FAQ: What happens when the server hits their opponents' non-receiver?

Pickleball players inquiring minds want to know...about faults

Dropped item in non-volley zone - The Pickleball Broadcast

Photo by Ruvim Noga / Unsplash

Q: What happens when the server hits the opponent's non-receiver?

A. If the server accidentally or intentionally hits the opponent at the net, the serving team earns the point. The non-receiver is responsible for watching the serve and, if necessary, getting out of the way. 

Additionally, when the server intentionally aims at and hits the opponent at the net, it’s called a “Nasty Nelson." This rarely goes over well in either rec play or during tournaments. (And it is something that some VERY close friends might try with each other.)