FAQ: Does the score have to be called before serving in pickleball?

Pickleball players inquiring minds want to know...about score calling

calling the score in pickleball - The Pickleball Broadcast

Photo by Ruvim Noga / Unsplash

Q: Does the score have to be called before serving in pickleball?

A. Yes, the score has to be verbally called (or signed) by the server, in its entirety, before contact is made with the ball. (However, if the server is unable to state the score, their partner may due so throughout the entire game.)

As a matter of etiquette, the score is to be called loudly after players are in the ready position (and not indicating "not ready" by having their back to the server or having their paddle up high).

The server should not "fast serve" when players aren't ready, can't hear the complete score or the server hasn't said the score at all. If any of these situations occur in a non-officiated game, the receiver may choose not to return the serve and ask for a proper re-serve.