FAQ: Is it a fault if I drop something into the non-volley zone?

Pickleball players inquiring minds want to know...about faults

Dropped item in non-volley zone - The Pickleball Broadcast

Photo by Ruvim Noga / Unsplash

Q: Is it a fault if I drop something into the non-volley zone?

A. If, during the process of volleying, a player drops an item into the non-volley zone (like a hat or pair of glasses), it would be considered a fault. As is if the player's momentum carries them into the non-volley zone during or after volleying the ball.

However, if the player was taking a ball off the bounce, it would not be a fault. So, if you or your partner drop an item while dinking, one of you could step in and retrieve the item while the opponents have the ball. The retriever would, however, need to make sure to re-establish both feet out of the non-volley zone before hitting the next volley.

Smart opponents would aim to attack the player who stepped into the non-volley zone to retrieve the item in hopes they didn't have time to re-establish their feet outside of the non-volley zone.